Dragon Age: Inquisition, The Descent DLC is pretty but nothing special

Borrowed from ignimgs.com

Genre: Fantasy RPG

Synopsis: The Inquisition is called down into the Deep Roads to help the dwarves of Orzammar secure their lyrium mines. Something deep in the stone is causing destructive earthquakes, something long forgotten, and it will take someone of the Inquisitor’s caliber to reach it…

Series: Additional content for the third (but standalone) installment in the Dragon Age video game series.

Verdict: Meh.

Borrowed from onlinewelten.com

My reviews of the excellent base game are here, for discussion of the amazing characters, and here, for other components. The review for the first single-player DLC, Jaws of Hakkon, is here.

So, this was pretty much a dungeon crawl. As I’m not a fan of those, I can’t tell you whether it’s a good one. Apart from that and a little extra lore, there really isn’t much to this DLC.

I didn’t hate it, or anything. I wasn’t bored. But I can’t say I really enjoyed it that much, either.

Pros:

  • The Deep Roads are pretty. And I enjoyed getting back to them, in general.
  • There is some extra lore, of the totally new variety.
  • It wasn’t bad, per se.
  • It gives us something to spend excess power on, from the base game?

Cons:

  • Not a particularly strong story, which is bad because this is a particularly linear DLC. It figures that we finally get something that isn’t overly open-world, and there’s not a lot of narrative to it. This needed a strong narrative.
  • Not enough development for the main side characters, no real character conflicts, all in combination with very little focus on our companions.
  • It went a little crazy with unlocking operations, and the pseudo-war table felt unnecessary here. The balance in the game proper was fine, but here it’s kinda tedious.
  • I think I know less about the Deep Roads than I did before I played this DLC.

I have more concrete cons than pros, but again, I didn’t actively dislike the experience of playing it. It just wasn’t memorable and didn’t add much to my impression of the game.

Recommended: Only if you want to get some dungeon crawl/combat in. Or if you think the price and time is worth it for three minutes of lore at the end. Or if you really want the pretty scenery. Not for story or character work.

Borrowed from dragonage.com

This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.